homemade meal project

Since starting my blog a few weeks ago, I’ve come to realize that I don’t cook that much.  The sad part is that I really enjoy cooking.  I always wish that I had a good creative outlet and cooking is my favorite option because

1) you don’t have to keep the thing you made, you just eat it!  Less clutter all around. 

2) you can easily share what you cooked or baked with other people and they always appreciate it (unlike the bootlegged birdhouses, scarves, et cetera that I’ve attempted in the past.

3) it makes your house smell good.

4) it’s a great way to know what’s going into your food.  fresh, healthy ingredients = fresh, healthy eating.

In light of this, I proposed to Todd this morning that we try to cook at home at least three times a week.  I’m going to do my best to not just make batches and batches of Triple Layer Cookies and Cream Crunch Bars and S’mores Milkshakes.  With any luck I’ll throw a meal or two in there.

So, please help me out.

What are your favorite week-night, healthy meals to make?

What do you stock your shelves with to make preparing meals easy?

12 thoughts on “homemade meal project

  1. Damien and I cook everything on Sunday, so that we have a lot of fresh, healthy options during the week because we get so busy. Lots of turkey sausage, turkey burgers, grilled chicken, and tuna salad. With the chicken I’ll make a large meal with it during the week and freeze the rest for another time (like when I’m out of town and my spoiled boyfriend fends for himself :)). One that I recently made, and loved, was coconut curry chicken. I was trying to be an equal international food opportunist without spending a lot of money on weird ingredients:

    2 pounds of chicken breast, cut into chunks
    salt and pepper to taste
    1-2 tbsp. vegetable oil.
    2 tbsp. curry powder (I use a little more, I love curry!)
    1/2 onion thinly sliced
    2 cloves of garlic, crushed
    1 can of light coconut milk
    1 can of stewed, diced tomatoes
    3 tbsp Splenda (or sugar)
    I add red pepper flakes for spice as well…
    Season chicken pieces with salt and pepper.
    Heat oil and curry powder in a large skillet over medium-high heat for two minutes. Stir in onions and garlic, cook unil onions are translucent. Add chicken, tossing lightly to coat with curry oil. Reduce heat to medium, and cook for 7 to 10 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink in center and juices run clear.
    Pour coconut milk, tomatoes, tomato sauce, and sugar into the pan, and stir to combine. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, approximately an hour, or until sauce has thickened.

    Serve it up with brown rice and veggies or a salad, and it’s delish. Doesn’t compare to Bombay Cuisine- but I tried.

    • That sounds awesome! I definitely think that pre-prepping is key and well, we do lots of relaxing on Sundays so I don’t see why we couldn’t use some of that time for prepping. Can’t wait to try the chicken!

    • That’s a great idea, we could make fresh pesto – that would be really good. I always have leftover basil when I buy fresh so making pesto is the perfect option for the extra.

  2. This just reminded me of how much I wish I could make my own meals. Being in college without a kitchen is hard : /
    do you like Pomelos? Because they are my favorite fruit. hands down!

    • I definitely barely cooked when I was in college. I thought popcorn and hot fudge sundaes was gourmet, haha. I have to confess, I’ve never actually tried pomelos only “pomelos” (Spanish for grapefruits) but I have my eyes open for them and will be purchasing the next one I see. It’s only seems right. I was just poking around on your blog, love the stoplight costume! I’ll definitely be reading. Cheers!

  3. Go to Hungry Girl! They have great tips and swaps.

    Soup is the best for healthy, nutritious, home-enhancing scents.

    • Great suggestion! Have you ever tried their mugg-egg recipes? A friend recommended them awhile ago.

      And yes, love soups. I need to make them more often. Your chicken soup is the best!

  4. Pingback: shopping list | pomelo sunshine

  5. Pingback: english muffin pizza | pomelo sunshine

  6. Pingback: hmp – guacamole | pomelo sunshine

Leave a Reply

