ch – ruins and fish phobia

On Wednesday, Todd and I rented a Smart Car and hit the road for the day.  The Smart Car was pretty awesome and it was even a convertible which we were pretty excited about.

Thankfully Cancun and Riviera Maya are easy to navigate because they’re basically long strips with one long highway connecting them.  After driving due south for an hour and a half we arrived at Tulum, a pre-Columbian Maya city on the Caribbean Sea that was probably established around 1200 AD.

A lot of the ruins are quite intact and the location on the Caribbean Sea makes for gorgeous views.

Todd and I opted out of a guided tour and wandered around the ruins for awhile.

It was a really hot day (in Mexico, you don’t say!) so we didn’t stay incredibly long.  Thankfully Tulum isn’t huge so we felt like we had a complete experience.  It was nice to get out of the resort, see more of Mexico and stretch our legs a bit.

We had lunch at another sister resort, Xpu Ha Palace.  I order the Tacos al Pastor – pork tacos with grilled pineapple that were so delicious!  I will definitely be attempting to recreate these bad boys when I get home.

When we were full we left to find Yal Ku Lagoon in the nearby town of Akumal.  The lagoon was recommended to me as the best place to snorkel around.  It’s a lagoon where the fresh water meets the ocean so lots of fish and turtles tend to congregate there.

Todd loves to snorkel so we were excited.  We’ve actually been snorkeling together before, in Costa Rica and had a great time.  Todd was much more into it than I was but I enjoyed it and when I felt I had seen enough I hopped back on the boat to read and sunbathe.

What I wasn’t expecting this time was for fish to flock towards the stairs as you enter the lagoon.  Some might think this was really cool, I in fact did until the fish wouldn’t move, but I have a fish phobia and did not appreciate those little buggers swimming towards me as I attempted to get into the water.

In my head I know that fish aren’t interested in me but the thought of them swimming up next to me just freaks me out.  Plus I saw them eat a baby crab that got stuck to my fin – it was not very reassuring.

Todd eagerly jumped into the lagoon and snorkeled ahead, attempting every few minutes to lure me into the water and snorkel with him.  The problem was that he is fish bait.  Every time he came near, he brought two dozen fish along with him.

Finally, after about 20 minutes of pouting sunbathing, the fish cleared and I got into the water and snorkeled a bit.  Mostly, I swam around but I was happy with that and Todd was happy that I was in the water.

We brought our Flip video camera and our underwater case so Todd edited together a little video for you all to see.  Enjoy!

When we got back to our hotel that evening we were greeted with a “Just Married” dessert and a bottle of Mexican champagne.

We had a really fun day exploring Riviera Maya and our honeymoon surprise was the perfect way to end the day, a very nice touch, indeed.

As if this post wasn’t long enough, I wanted to let you know that I’ve added a new page to the blog.  It’s a book list and I’d love to hear your recommendations!

Do you have any animal phobias?


6 thoughts on “ch – ruins and fish phobia

  1. HOORAY for Smart Cars!! Haha and snorkeling. Looks like you are having gorgeous weather!! If it wasn’t as nice as it has been here, I would be much more jealous than I already am :)

    • The Smart Car was awesome! I know why you guys picked it, it’s so cute and compact and easy to park. I even told Todd that I want one until it got a little jerky on the highway. We’ll see though, it could’ve just been our rental.

Leave a Reply

