mom’s chicago birthday celebration

Yesterday after my sister and I finished our Fly Yoga class, we met my parents at Greek Islands Restaurant in Greektown for my mom’s birthday lunch.  We started out lunch with a flaming cheese appetizer.

Not a bad way to kick off a celebration!  We had our lunch and then the server brought out a piece of baklava, complete with a birthday candle and two of the waiters sang “Happy Birthday” to her, it was very sweet.

We went to have manicures and pedicures after lunch.  Even my dad had a pedicure, and loved it I might add.  We had them done at Pinky Nail Salon and they did such a great job.  I got not one but two shoulder massages and, as an added bonus, a Sex and the City marathon was playing on E! while we were there.  My toes are a greenish-turquoise and my fingers are lavender, I look just like an Easter egg and love it.  Spring is almost here, I just know it!

After our nails were dry (mostly) we headed to State Street for some shopping.  I found the most adorable dress for our rehearsal dinner at Macy’s.  I can’t wait to debut it in 40 days.  Man, it is getting so close, I can’t wait!

After a long afternoon of shopping we went to Bella Notte, an adorable little Italian restaurant just down the street from my sister’s apartment.  Holy cow, the food was to die for.  Here’s my dinner plate:

I felt like someone should roll me back to Em’s apartment.  We were definitely indulging but, you have to do that every once in a while, right?  My jeans were fitting a little tighter in the morning but I still managed to scarf down part of my mom’s birthday fruit arrangement even before heading out to brunch.

 

We had already eaten all of the chocolate-covered pineapple…

We ate brunch at Crepe Crave in Wicker Park.  Ohmygoodness, the our crepes were so delicious!  My sister and I split a savory crepe with eggs and turkey but I was most excited about the ricotta and raspberry crepe topped with Nutella.  Yum!

I need not describe how great this tasted.  My mom ordered a peanut butter, banana and Nutella crepe that was to die for as well, such a good brunch!  By the way, check out this row of Nutella.

Uh, yeah.  Who wouldn’t be a fan of any place that stocks that much Nutella.

My parents left after brunch and Emily and I did some more shopping in Wicker Park.  It was such a great weekend, I love Chicago and I love spending time with my family.  The only thing missing was Todd but we just had dinner from Qdoba and now he’s sitting next to me and letting me watch the Real Housewives of Orange County.  Not a bad little Sunday night.

I hope you all had a great weekend too!

What was your favorite thing you ate this weekend?

Do you feel guilty after a weekend of pigging out?

 

 

Leave a Reply

