walking a fine line

I have a confession to make.  You see, Todd and I gave up ice cream for Lent.  This is a huge struggle for me because I love ice cream.  It’s also a huge challenge for me because ice cream seems to be taunting me.  Last weekend in Chicago, the restaurant my sister and I had dinner at had a dessert that included  salted caramel ice cream, I couldn’t wait to try it…until I realized I’d have to wait until Easter.  The next day, we went to a grocery store that was giving away free samples of the most amazing sounding Nice Cream.

Lavender Vanilla AND  Carrot Cake!?  Oh my gosh, they all sounded amazing, but I resisted.

And then at brunch the next morning, a case of Palazzolo’s Gelato – my favorite!

All of those beautiful gelatos and still I resisted.

Then, today at work, my friend Mary brought me a cup of pomegranate frozen yogurt.  With sprinkles.

Frozen yogurt isn’t technically ice cream, right?  Yes.  I ate this.  Every last spoonful.  Todd told me it was okay but that I was walking a fine line – I’m so dangerous!  Thank you, Mary, for the fro yo and for never making me feel guilty when I’m in the mood to push the limits.

As soon as I left work, I headed to the jeweler to pick…(drum roll please!)…Todd’s wedding band!  That’s right, I got his and mine will be ready to pick up on Saturday so we’re almost as good as man and wife.  What a crazy feeling!  Todd tried it on when I got home and we both had a moment of mild freak out because it is weird to see a ring on a finger that has never worn one before.  A good kind of weird though, only 38 days until that ring will become a permanent fixture on Todd’s left hand.

While I was at the mall I did a little browsing for myself and, even though I tried to resist, I ended up at J. Crew.  I can’t help myself, I love their clothes and almost always walk away with something new.  Today was no different, I found a cute little sundress that I can wear on our Mexican honeymoon.

¿Te gusta? (Notice my new bag in the corner, fun!)

After the mall, I rushed over to the Funky Buddha for a Shake your Asana class.  I love this class!  They play music the whole time and Cindy, the instructor, really gets us sweating and does a great job of keeping it interesting and stretching us out.

I dragged my sweaty self home after class and made a quick dinner.  Just a can of soup, bagel crisps and some cheese.  Nothing fancy but I was loving my Chicken Tuscany soup!

After a day of work, running some errands and powering through a Shake your Asana class I am one tired girl.  Thank goodness that the Top Chef: All Stars season finale is on right now.  I love this show!  It’s the perfect way to relax on a Wednesday night.

Did you give anything up for Lent?

Have you had any moments of weakness if you did?

One thought on “walking a fine line

  1. Pingback: one last single girl weekend | pomelo sunshine

Leave a Reply

