hmp: baked spaghetti pie

On Saturday afternoon I felt inspired to make individual spaghetti pies for dinner.  By dinnertime, I wasn’t very hungry so Todd and I just snacked a bit and the ingredients for these delicious pasta creations have been waiting to be prepared.  I’ve never made these before and I basically made up the recipe myself so I was nervous about how they would turn out.  Thankfully they were delicious!  I’m still thinking about having another and we finished dinner an hour ago.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

Individual Baked Spaghetti Pies

Ingredients:

8 oz. whole wheat spaghetti (any type of spaghetti or similar will do – I used Hodgson Mill’s Whole Wheat Spinach Spaghetti)

6 tablespoons liquid egg whites

1/2 cup low-fat ricotta cheese

2/3 cup parmesan-asiago-romano cheese blend

1/2 t. diced garlic (I buy pre-chopped garlic in a jar and love it, it saves so much time!)

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1 jar of marinara sauce (I used Lucini Tuscan Marinara with Roasted Garlic Sauceso worth the money)

+ special equipment: 6 ramekins

Directions:

– Cook spaghetti according to package directions.

– Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350F and prepare ramekins by spraying with cooking spray and placing on a baking sheet.

– Mix together egg whites, ricotta and cheese blend in a large bowl until smooth.  Add Italian seasoning and garlic until evenly distributed through the ricotta/egg white mixture.

– Remove spaghetti from the stove when cooked.  Drain then add spaghetti to the ricotta mixture in the large bowl and stir with a spatula until evenly coated.

– Divide spaghetti mixture evenly between the 6 greased ramekins.

– Top each spaghetti filled ramekin with enough marinara sauce to generously cover all of the pasta (you’ll have extra marinara left, either pop in the fridge for later or serve it up with garlic bread on the side).  If you’d like, sprinkle the top with more cheese then pop them in the oven.

– Bake for 25-30 minutes and enjoy!

These little spaghetti pies were so delicious.  I swear, everything baked in a ramekin tastes twenty times better.  They’re the perfect size and I love the way the tops of ramekin foods toast up.  Yum!

I can’t wait to eat the leftover pies tomorrow and Thursday for lunch.

Now, it’s time to work on finishing up that DIY wedding project that we started on Sunday.  Wish me luck!

What do you make in ramekins?

Do you have a go-to pasta sauce?  Which one?


5 thoughts on “hmp: baked spaghetti pie

Leave a Reply

