holding on

I’m making some progress on packing.  I have things in boxes, full trash bags and more things strewn about the floor.  Moving makes me feel like a hoarder.  Why did I keep that receipt?  Did I really need to save that letter from my health insurance company?  Is that gum?  When did that shirt ever fit me?  But such is life.  We hold onto things because they mean something to us.  We hold onto things because we think we might need them later.  Sometimes I feel bad about holding onto things but sometimes I remember exactly why I did.

Today I found an envelope full of pictures that my grandmother had saved of me.  My mom separated a package for each of us kids when she passed away.  I love seeing those pictures and remember how much fun we had with her and knowing that her children and grandchildren brought her so much joy.  It makes me sad that she and my grandpa won’t be at our wedding – they would have loved it.  Grandma would’ve loved the whole process and put Martha Stewart to shame with all of the projects she would have come up with.

I also found the first picture that Todd and I ever had taken together.  It seems so long ago now but I love that picture and I love remember how much fun we had that night.

Anyways, I’m getting sappy over here.

It’s time for a packing break so I just ordered a pizza and am going to run to the (neighborhood) grocery store – we’re running low on trash bags and I forgot to buy more this morning – then pick it up.  And then I think I’ll mix up a little cocktail.  Yum!

Do you hold onto things that seem silly later?

Have you come across any gems lately?

2 thoughts on “holding on

  1. Aww, the picture with your grandma is so precious. I wished my grandma could’ve been there for my wedding too..

    I absolutely LOVE that picture of you and Todd! Seriously beyond adorable. And yayyyy for cocktails!! I may have to make one later too. 🙂

  2. Oh gosh Kate I’m all jet lagged and now all teary. Thanks for this great post and for the great pix. Thank you for remembering grandma and especially for celebrating her creative spirit. I try to tell the girls these stories too because they really don’t remember her except for just a little, and the crafts were mostly over by then.

    I know they will both be there with us at the upcoming royal wedding of Kate…. and Todd! I read a story once themed about the day one’s name is last mentioned on earth…through stories like this we will keep memories alive.

    I love the picture of you guys. Happy from the start.

    As for hoarding, I am somewhat of an expert. My purge is done and the shredder comes Monday. I saved some real gems for the wedding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

