hmp: grilled cheddar and apple

After my return to work which was largely uneventful, I ran to the store to pick up a few groceries.  Since our apartment is still a pigsty work in progress we decided that we should keep it simple and focus on organizing the apartment.  Plus, Todd was in the middle of building some of our new furniture including a beautiful new wine bar that we bought for additional storage.

After we started to move in we quickly realized that while our cupboards are full of dishes and other wonderful things that we didn’t have any room for food in the cupboards so we also bought a big wire rack that’s doubling as storage and a pantry and will eventually house our microwave.

After putting a few things away I got to work in our new kitchen for the first time.  For our first dinner in our new home, I turned to an old favorite – grilled cheese.  With less ingredients than I can count on my hand, it was the perfect choice for a simple, quick supper.  I started with the basics an then added my favorite secret ingredient for grilled cheese sandwiches – granny smith apple slices.

Apples with cheese is one of my favorite combos.  I like to slice the apples thin and sandwich them in between slices of cheese so they stick in the bread nicely when you grilled them up.

I snacked on another favorite apple combo while the sandwiches were cooking.

Apples and peanut butter used to be a Sunday night staple at our house growing up.  I think we need to reinstate that tradition.  I love the sweet saltiness of the peanut butter combined with the tartness of the apples.  Yum!

As if that wasn’t good enough, Todd and I had our grilled cheese ready a few minutes later (his minus the apple) and enjoyed them in the sun out on the deck.

Look at all of that gooey, melty cheese!

How do you like your grilled cheese sandwiches?

Do you add anything to make them special or are you a traditionalist?

12 thoughts on “hmp: grilled cheddar and apple

  1. Weird! I just ate a granny smith and peanut butter tonight!! Great minds think alike! Cute stuff on your fridge by the way!!

  2. Apples and cheese are a great combo ~ why have I never thought of putting them together on a grilled cheese? My hubby & I love grilled cheese with tomato, but next time I will definitely be giving your version a try!

    • I like grilled cheese with tomato too, especially a caprese-style one with fresh mozzarella. I hope you like the apple version when you try it!

  3. Pingback: recycling is rewarding | pomelo sunshine

  4. Pingback: Let’s Be Random » Laughter, Strength, and Food

  5. Pingback: zingerman’s got that something | pomelo sunshine

Leave a Reply

