hmp: lemon fresh summer pasta

This morning I woke up bright and early to make it to a 6:00 am yoga class.  For once I didn’t hit snooze (well, maybe once or twice) and actually got up to go to the class.  It was so nice to have my workout done by 7:00 am and I even squeezed in a little nap before getting ready for work.

Since my workout was done before work, I got to come right home and had plenty of time to make a real dinner.  I decided to make a light pasta dish which I’m calling Lemon Fresh Summer Pasta.  I was inspired by and almost completely followed/referred to a recipe for Sweet Corn Pasta from Baked Bree.

Without further ado, here’s the adapted recipe for this delicious, light, fresh summer pasta:

Lemon Fresh Summer Pasta

6 oz. (1/2 bag) lemon chive fettucine

2 ears of fresh corn

2 cloves garlic

1 T. + 1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup chopped of fresh basil, parsley and oregano blend

Juice of one lemon

1 Tablespoon lemon zest

A block of Parmesan cheese

Soak corn in water then grill the ears in their husks later exposing them to slightly char the kernels.

While the corn cooks, heat 1 T. olive oil in a pan then add garlic, cooking and turning it until golden brown.  Cook pasta.

Remove kernels from the cobs and place them in a medium size bowl.  Add remaining olive oil, herbs, lemon juice and cooked garlic.  Zest lemon over the mixture and then stir to combine all ingredients.

When pasta is cooked, place in serving bowl.  Top with olive oil/corn mixture.  Toss all ingredients together and top with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

We had our pasta with chicken breasts for a kick of protein and ciabatta bread and it was so good.  Neither of us felt overly full like we sometimes do when we have pasta and the lemon just gives it such a refreshing taste.  The lemon chive pasta was really good but if you can’t find it, you can use any long noodle or really any pasta you like.

This meal will definitely be making another appearance on our table.

As a bonus, it was the first time I used our new pasta pot for two, one of our serving bowls, our brand new box grater and our mini prep bowls.  New tools making cooking even more fun!

I’m really going to try to do more morning workouts.  This summer I’ll be working earlier, think 7:00am so it will be a good transition into that.  The mornings won’t feel so early if I’m used to getting up anyways, right?

Do you workout in the morning?

How do you lighten up pasta (or other dishes) for summer?

7 thoughts on “hmp: lemon fresh summer pasta

    • I saw those too and was thinking about how I could make them not seem like a kid food, they looked delicious! Maybe in a few years we can make them for your baby, when she’s born…and has teeth, haha.

  1. Lemon chive fettucine sounds good!

    I’m still trying to workout in the morning. It’s less an issue of actually getting up, because that doesn’t really bother me. It’s more that I can’t figure out what to eat/what not to eat that won’t make my stomach weird the rest of the day!

    • It was good! Although we were wondering how flavorful it would be without a lemony sauce.

      I don’t ever eat right before working out. Do you always before a workout? I wait until after and have no problems at all.

  2. this looks so fresh!! Seriously, I’m awaiting corn season! I love cooking tools. Have you ever been to Marshals? They always have fun ones in pretty colors. I have a mini crock pot I like to make oats in overnight.
    I do workout in the morning- it helps me start me day right!

Leave a Reply

