kitchenaid debut + brownies from scratch

You may remember that I was given a KitchenAid stand mixer as a wedding shower gift.  It has been sitting proudly on a shelf since we moved into our apartment, waiting to be used.  On Friday, I knew that it could wait no longer.  Since this was the KitchenAid’s inaugural use I wanted to make something delicious, classic and worthy of the mixer.  I had never made brownies from scratch before and it seemed like the thing to do.  After skimming through several blogs and searching for homemade brownie recipes between tasks at work, I settled on Jessica’s Cookies and Cream Brownies.  The recipe is simple, approachable and involves Oreo cookies – a sure winner.  Plus, I’ve had her Cookies and Cream Cupcakes and those were quite good.

Todd got to work crushing the Oreos (Double Stuff – we don’t mess around), his favorite kitchen task, while I measured out the other ingredients.

The mixer worked wonderfully and I soon had a lovely, smooth brownie batter ready to bake into brownies.

In making these, I also debuted another new baking tool, my Martha Stewart Brownie Pan.  It slices your brownies for you as they cook!  I was worried that it might make brownies that were all edges but the middle brownies came out great, like freshly sliced brownies.  I’m definitely not ever using another pan to make brownies again.

I didn’t make the frosting for the brownies but we did try some with store-bought  vanilla frosting.  These brownies are delicious and cakey but fudge-like at the same time.  It was so easy to make them from scratch – I’ll definitely be using less boxed mixes in the future.

These brownies are screaming to be served with ice cream and hot fudge.  I’ll let you know if I can make that happen over the weekend.

The recipe for these brownies can be found here.  I followed it almost exactly, using 3 squares baking chocolate and substituing whole wheat flour for regular flour.  Again, it was really easy.  If you feel intimidated at the thought of making brownies from scratch, don’t!

Also, I don’t need to say it but the KitchenAid is amazing and I’m so glad I have one.  Many more batches of cookies, brownies and bread to come.

Have you ever made brownies from scratch?

What’s your favorite addition to brownies?  Nuts, chocolate chunks, frosting, toffee?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “kitchenaid debut + brownies from scratch

    • The pan is awesome – and I noticed it’s on sale right now when I added the link.

      How do you make your brownies vegan? Take out the egg and then…add extra oil? Wait, what about butter? Can you eat butter?

Leave a Reply

