peen-ya keen-wa

Today was a very pineapply day.  I had a mid-morning snack of pineapple Chobani and I let some of the pineapple gummy bears that are floating around the office – leftovers from our wedding candy bar – go for a swim in it.  Gummy bear yogurt is definitely a fun thing.

For lunch, I had a homemade concoction – quinoa, black beans and pineapple.  Yes, it’s true, I can never get enough pineapple.  I just love it.

I made the quinoa last night and added black beans for the taste and a little protein boost.  I seasoned it with some garlic and herb seasoning and then added some ground chipotle for an added kick.  I got heavy-handed and my quinoa end up with a big kick.  The sweet, juicy pineapple was the perfect thing to temper the spiciness, thus piña quinoa (peen-ya keen-wa) was born.

This was a great little meal made better by the fact that I was able to enjoy it outside because it was still over 80 degrees today.  Summer’s really here!

We’ll see if I can fit some pineapple into my dinner.  I’m crazy pizza (like usual) and always top mine with pineapple.  Three meals, one fruit.  I like the sounds of that!

Do you like quinoa?

Is there a fruit or food that you could eat at every meal?

6 thoughts on “peen-ya keen-wa

Leave a Reply

