saturday morning market

Yesterday was a gorgeous, hot, summer day in Grand Rapids.  I kicked it off by walking to the farmer’s market.  We are so lucky to live just a 10-minute walk from the farmer’s market.  This was my first time going this year but I plan to take advantage of it all season long.  Going to the Ann Arbor farmer’s market a few weekends ago really whet my appetite and I was so ready to get down to the Fulton St. market.

Grand Rapids isn’t exactly a walking town, almost everyone drives to get anywhere, even if it’s only a few blocks ago but as I got closer I started to see people walking and biking away from the market with fresh flowers, bags of veggies and homemade breads in hand.  I love seeing that bustle of people out and about, it’s something I miss from my days in Buenos Aires and something I crave, maybe a big city move is in order?  Anyways…

When I arrived to the farmer’s market it was bumping!  The place packed from wall to wall stall to stall and I started to make my way through the crowds.  I like to walk through the whole market once to see what there is before deciding on what to buy.

I was glad to see that there was a lot of fresh produce available but upon closer inspection most of it was from other states, California, Florida, North Carolina, the warmer states.  Pretty as it was, I decided that there was no reason to buy non-local produce at the farmer’s market (sorry farmers) and settled on some asparagus which is grown right here in West Michigan.

I found a stall that sold it by the pound and bought just a 1/2 pound.  I find that a normal bunch is too much for the two of us and a lot ends up going to waste.

I also bought a few cupcakes, a bar of oatmeal soap from the Grand Rapids Soap Co. and some fresh flowers.  I have to say, fresh cut flowers are my favorite thing about the farmer’s market.  They just make me smile, simple as that.

After the farmer’s market I met up with my mom for lunch then went and spent some time at my favorite bookstore, Schuler Books.  It was a lovely way to spend a hot Saturday.  By the time I was done with all of my errands, Todd was home (he had been at a Phish concert in Detroit overnight) and we hung out for the rest of the afternoon before going down to Festival in the evening.  Festival was great but I’ll fill you in on the food and entertainment later.

I hope you all had a wonderful Saturday!

Do you buy only local items at the farmer’s market?

 

One thought on “saturday morning market

Leave a Reply

