tengo hot

At the risk of sounding elderly, today  was a scorcher!

Temperatures hovered around 90° all day and while I was after work, Todd sent me this text:

100° inside?  This was getting ridiculous.  You see, we don’t have air conditioning at all.  Our thermostat tricked us, it has a “COOL” option but if you flip it to “COOL” nothing happens.  So far we’ve been getting by with fans but 100°, now that’s hot.

Thankfully we had plans to go out on a little date and have dinner and ice cream so we left as soon as I got home from work. At dinner I ordered the salmon, a big step for me since I’m just starting to eat fish.  When I saw that it came served on a “goat cheese pool”, I was in.

After dinner we walked over to one of our favorite ice cream shops and indulged in cones of Chocolate Monster and Chocolate Chip Extreme.  That ice cream was half melted before we walked out of the shop but man, it was delicious.

When we got home our apartment was so stinking hot.  I looked at the thermometer and it read 99° – not a big improvement since we left.

I decided the only thing to do was go to bed.  Somehow, about 15 seconds after I had changed into sleep clothes, we decided that this was ridiculous and that we had to go get an air conditioner.  A minute after that we were in the car, heading to Target.

We picked out the cheapest air conditioner we could find and brought it home.  We immediately realized that it wouldn’t fit in either of our bedroom windows, too big for one, too small for the other.  Todd decided that 99* was a good reason to try it anyways.

In the end, he was right – it fit in our 20″ window even though it’s 3″ smaller than the minimum width.  We both took turns standing in front of it, soaking up the cool air.

I’m guessing that our bedroom is still about 85° but that is a heck of a lot cooler than it was.

Something tells me that our bedroom will be our new favorite room in the house, forget the living room!

Do you have air conditioning?  If not, how do you keep cool in the summer?

10 thoughts on “tengo hot

  1. I can’t even imagine living without air conditioning! I live in Phoenix and when ours broke last September, it got that hot inside! Not comfortable at all…and ridiculously difficult to sleep. The bedroom would quickly become my favorite room too 🙂 Stay cool!

  2. I feel your pain! We were around 100 inside last night as well…. and we can’t get an ac unit like yours because our windows are sliders! Thank goodness for the pool!

  3. Pingback: Page not found | pomelo sunshine

  4. Pingback: sprouting basil | pomelo sunshine

Leave a Reply

