thoughts on popcorn and yoga

Well, we survived the hot, hot night.  Actually, the air conditioner helped a lot – go figure!  I woke up and had blankets on, a sure sign that the temperature was at a bearable level.  Of course, leaving the air on all day doesn’t make a ton of sense so when I got home from work the apartment had hit 97 – still hot but better than 99, right?  I’m doing my best to ignore the heat knowing that tonight, I’ll be able to sleep comfortably.

All this talk about the heat is making me sweat.  Let’s talk about food instead.

When I got home from work I was hungry (as usual) but since I have yoga class later on I didn’t want to eat too much.  My favorite solution to this problem is to pop some popcorn.

I really love popcorn and about a year ago, give or take, I bought a box of Orville Redenbacher’s Natural Lime and Salt popcorn.  I’ve been hooked ever since.  I dare say that it’s taken the place of movie theater butter popcorn as my favorite type of popcorn.  The best part is that it comes in mini bags so I can always make the perfect amount for a little snack.  The lime is subtle, as if you had squeezed a fresh lime over top of the bag, not overwhelmingly fruity.  Seriously, I always have this in the house. If you haven’t tried it, go buy a box, you won’t be sorry!

Also, speaking of yoga class, isn’t it kind of funny that my hot yoga class at 95° will be cooler than our apartment, kind of?

After almost a week off due to not being able to breathe at all (thanks for that, allergies), I went back to yoga yesterday morning at 6:00 am.  I’m always proud of myself for getting up and actually going and I feel better all day long.  Morning workouts are the ticket, I think.  I’m excited for tonight’s Shake Your Asana class, I haven’t been to one in ages.  They play music the whole time so there’s a different, fun and playful vibe to the class.  It’s a good time.

Well, time to go sweat my butt off!  I hope you’re having a great Wednesday!

What’s your favorite pre-workout snack?

If you practice yoga, do you do so quietly or do you turn up the jams from time to time?

8 thoughts on “thoughts on popcorn and yoga

    • Oh no, that’s so heartbreaking! It must have some butter in it. This popcorn is so good that you shouldn’t be deprived. I think you’ve given me a project and a reason to try out my food processor. I’ll keep you posted on Vegan Lime Popcorn. I like the sound of that.

  1. Mmm…That popcorn sounds delicious! I simply MUST try it when I go home to visit this summer!
    Good luck with the heat – I know how you feel!

      • We have air conditioning, but we only try to run it at night – and only one room at a time – otherwise it’s just WAY too expensive. Thankfully during the hottest parts of the day, I’m at work, which runs it’s own air conditioning. If I didn’t move in and out of buildings so much, it would definitely suck more…
        I’m working on posting more often. Thank you; I will hurry up and get those posted! I must say that I enjoy your blog as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

