sprouting basil

I’ve been in the market for a new water bottle for awhile now.  I recently threw away my old Nalgenes.  Loved them but the BPA thing freaked me out, especially since I had heard it was related to exposure to heat and each of those bottles had spent their fair share of time in my car, cooking in the sun.

Also, for Christmas I bought Vapur water pouches for my siblings, Todd and myself.  I loved the idea of them, they flatten and roll up for easy storage.  Unfortunately, I found the pouches hard to drink out of especially in the middle of a sweaty, fast-paced yoga session.

Since retiring my Vapur I’ve just been refiling Dasani bottles.  A few months ago I saw the Sipp water bottle on Peanut Butter and Jenny.  Jenny loved it and it’s been in the back of my mind since then.

While Todd and I were at Target buying our life-saving air conditioner, I decided that it was time to pull the trigger and buy this bad boy.  I tried it out at the office and was happy with it but the true test came at yoga last night.  I wanted to see how it would work when I just needed to sop and keep moving.  Let me tell you, it was a good choice.  On top of the cool design it has some great features:

1) The bottle flips open at the press of a button – no unscrewing your cap with this water bottle.

2) The cap stays open.  It doesn’t flop around and you don’t have to hold it back, it stays all by itself.  I truly appreciated it while I was sweating through my warriors, cobras, dancers and chaturungas.  No more caps hitting my in the face, woo hoo!

So, if you need a water bottle, check this one out, I really like it so far.  As far as I know they’re only available at Target but they also have a stainless steal version that’s available more widely.

In other news, I went out to check on my little garden and I noticed something amazing – my basil has sprouted!

We had rain overnight and it seems it was just the thing to get my basil growing.  I also have parsley and mint planted but they take a few weeks to bud.  This basil was planted just 6 days ago.  I am so excited to have fresh herbs.  I plan to make lots of Italian dishes and mojitos this summer with fresh grown herbs, sounds lovely, no?

And one final bit of excited news – our wedding pictures are ready!  Todd went to pick them up this afternoon and I am dying to get home and see them.  Seriously, our photographer is awesome, we only had to wait a month to get them back.  I’m sure I’ll be starting a wedding series soon, stay tuned!

Do you have a water bottle you love?

Have you ever cooked with homegrown herbs? What are your favorites to grow?

3 thoughts on “sprouting basil

  1. I love my Thermos Hydration Bottle, except the cap doesn’t stay open like this one. It flips open with a button, but I do get hit in the face, ha. I may have to invest in this one; it sounds pretty awesome!

    Can’t wait to see your wedding series! 🙂

Leave a Reply

