lazy, rainy, saturday

I slept in this morning.  I woke up around 7:20 as usual but then a fell asleep, until 9:15 or so.  It was luxury.  After a quick breakfast and catching up on the latest episode of Modern Family – officially declared my favorite show today – I got ready to head to my first wedding dress fitting.  Todd’s mom gave me the name of someone who was recommended to her by a friend and I am so glad I found her!  She pinned me up to take in the 3 inches of extra fabric on the top of the dress and pinned to create a bustle in less than 30 minutes.  The dress looked great all pinned up and I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished!

 

After the fitting, I went to Art of the Table, a local specialty food store.  This morning, Todd noticed that the Dancing Goat Creamery was going to be there with samples of their cheese.  I love goat cheese so how could I not go?  The had samples of several cheeses and they were all great but I actually left with a cow cheese that they make.  It’s a chipotle cream cheese and was the most unique, I can’t wait to snack on it tonight.

You’ll notice a jar of La Pampa Chimichurri sauce in the background.  It was on a display that I saw as I was walking in the door.  Chimichurri is an Argentine sauce that’s made of garlic, parsley and other herbs.  It’s served with steak and I fell in love with it when I studied abroad in Argentina in 2006.  I couldn’t resist and I’m glad that I didn’t, according to the manufacturer’s website, the product has been discontinued.  I can’t wait to grill steaks and serve them with this chimichurri – I’ve been promising Todd that I’d make him an authentic Argentine meal for ages, this is my excuse to really do it.

Art of the Table is such a great store, I could have spent $200 on cheeses, wine and unique sauces but, it leaves me many more reasons to keep going back.

I’m home now and looking forward to a short nap before I start on some cleaning.  I absolutely love Saturdays with no agenda, they’re the best.

Did you study abroad?

If so, what dish(es) did you love the most while you were there?

 

Leave a Reply

