saturday in denver – graduation

The reason for our trip to Denver this weekend was the graduation of Todd’s younger brother, Scott, from law school.  Now the family is even more jam-packed with attorneys.  Everyone is an attorney except me and Todd’s mom – crazy, huh?  Thankfully they now how to not talk shop at the dinner table so we all get along just fine.

We arrived in Denver on Friday evening and Todd’s brother and his wife, my new siblings-in-law, greeted us at the airport.  When we got to their house I met their dog, Turtle, for the first time.

Turtle is huge.  I’d heard the stories but I really wasn’t expect him to be so big.  I’ve never met a dog before who weighs more than I do!  Thankfully after some obedience classes he’s just a big ball of love.

The graduation was at 10:00 on Saturday morning so we all got up and went to the ceremony at the University of Denver.  The ceremony was nice and we were all proud to see Scott get hooded as he officially became a law school graduate.

After the graduation we all met outside to congratulate the new grad and snap some family photos.

After graduation we went out for brunch at Satchel’s on 6th, “a nice little place to eat and drink” per their slogan. I would agree.  They have a very limited menu but lots of things sounded good.  I ended up ordering a mimosa with Tang on the rim while I was deciding.

The Tang on the rim was a great touch.  I hadn’t had Tang since I was about 10 years old and it brought back great memories.  I basically licked the whole edge clean before touching the mimosa.

I finally ordered their farm fresh ricotta.  I’d say it was a good decision.  I tend to overeat at brunch (Don’t we all?  I hope I’m not the only one…) so I was happy with the small portion size and lightness of the dish.  And the honeycomb on top was exactly the perfect touch to sweeten up the ricotta.

One thing I knew I wasn’t going to order was the roasted bone marrow.  Todd and his older brother Joel went out on a limb and they both tried it.

Both of them hated it.

Oh well, you live and learn.  Plus, Turtle was VERY happy to munch on their bones when we got home.

This post is getting a bit long so I’ll sign off for now.  Coming up tomorrow, a family barbecue and a new dessert called sour puss, yum.

Happy graduation, Scott!

Did you try any interesting foods this weekend?

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten?

4 thoughts on “saturday in denver – graduation

    • Seriously, it was so good. We were talking about how you could even try Country Time Lemonade or Crystal Light or any powdered drink on the rim of drinks, yum!

Leave a Reply

